Better late than never heh. I'm still writing the "making of/tutorial" of Kill the Ninjas, it was suppossed to come out before this, but I realized there is another bitsy jam coming and I haven't talked about the Candle jam yet. Since using bitsy is really easy (and I didn't use any hacks or anything) I will not talk a lot about how to make the game or anything like that. Instead of that I'll write some thoughts and recommend some games better! Also, check bitsy for yourself in here. Try and recreate my game in there if no ideas come to mind, you'll see how easy it is to make a game.

About the theme

I was a bit afraid that a lot of people would do the "candle metaphor of your soul" or something like that, but my game ended up being unique in its own way (if you allow me the selfish compliment for a second). Anyway, I was delighted to see how everyone interpreted the "candles" in their own way. I'll show you some of the games that I liked the most (from least popular to most popular (according to itch.io)), but I recommend checking other games by yourself .

The Flood

There is something charming about candles that is hard to explain for me, maybe it's the fire, maybe that they bring light in dark times... it could be that candles for me are nowadays almost exclusively used when power goes out. What that means, now more than ever, is that we are forced to be disconnected, from computers, TV, internet, everything. In here there is also an appreciation for our now so contaminated sky that hides the beauty of the stars behind artificial lights. It's comforting to go out, look at the sky and be connected for a moment with everyone else who is under the same lights as you.

Guiding Light

Games usually handle themes such as depression, or more generally getting out of a bad personal situation, quite badly. Where so many games suggest that to get over your worst moments you must keep struggling doing the same until you do it right, Guiding Light finds another alternative. If you get lost, first of all, don't worry! You may have as many bad days as you may. But you cannot get out just by following the same steps over and over again. Maybe you should try different ways, maybe there is a light that aids you in where to go too! Eventually, with a little of help, you'll find a way out.

A Memory

In a year as bad as 2020 this kind of stories hit even harder. There really isn't too much to say, those who have lost a dear one will resonate with this.

devotion.

How our prayers change with time, and how a dignified death shouldn't be something to fear. There will be a time when all that we will ask is to be in peace, and there is nothing wrong with that.

The rest of your life

Rather than living on nostalgia of past times (good or bad) being able to leave them behind. Bury our past selves and know that we change through time, our own self has changed and will keep changing through the years.

Hope you found something interesting!. If you want to check my game for the jam, keep the flame alive, click here.