I made a new game for the first bipsi jam! You read well, this is not bitsy, but rather a new bitsy-inspired tool. To be honest I cannot explain the differences between the two even when they are quite obvious. I suggest trying out both editors to see what I mean. About the possibilities that each has, I recommend checking the other games of the jam, since I went with very straightforward methods as usual. The game forest song does a wonderful work with sound for instance. I'm sure that the other games did interesting experiments too. Besides, this being a smaller jam makes me want to recommend you to check everything. If I have to highlight another game, it would be Plus Kingdom Jailbreak. I feel that it touches some of the sensibilities that I explored in the past but tried to avoid here, so if you are longing for something similar to the themes of some of my earlier works, this is a magnificent game.

Anyway, talking about Midnight Interlude, it's been quite a while since the last game I published, so this one kind of doesn't fit in a sequence. But this is not only because of time, even though it helped. Somewhere in this period I've been thinking that some of my games are too selfish. Not that I am ashamed of them, they carry feelings and thoughts that I had and that I still have.

The thing is that when I thought about someone that is going through a lonely moment playing some of my games I was disappointed with myself. In the best case I'm creating a sort of hope for something that may or may not happen, me being lucky doesn't mean everyone being lucky. In the worst case, I'm ignoring the existence of people who are or feel alone right now.

I started making something similar to the first half of the game for the June bitsy jam. In that game, the protagonist had a very bad day at job, too much work, and very little money to face sudden problems. Basically everything except the coworker scenes were there. The ending was different of course. The protagonist would get home and jump in the bed to sleep, too tired to do anything for the upcoming weekend. But at that time, the person living with the protagonist would come in and ask how the day was. Knowing that things didn't go well, this friend would let the protagonist rest, but at that moment the protagonist rethinks the situation and proposes to go out, that even when they don't have a lot of money available there would be some cheap way to have fun.

I think it's clear with what I wrote before why I wasn't convinced. What about the people who won't have somebody at home to animate them? Worse than that, I think it is elusive of the real problems that some people may be facing. And to be honest, I still don't know how to face some of those problems. That's why I made this "interlude" game. Not that much a desperate search for an answer, but rather having a clear view of the problems for me to keep a reference to in the future.

I didn't want to fall into hopeless crap that is just as bad if not worse as the stuff I complained about before. I think I did well by remarking that being alone doesn't have to be a bad thing, nor wanting some company to any degree. I also wanted to make sure that maybe you are better alone than around some kind of people.

Anyway, this is the first game that takes place in a more real context (with some liberties in the dream) so I didn't want to make a childish statement. A diffuse non-ending that only opens questions to the future, but with a more clear direction.